Michael Aaron Williams

michaelaaronart.com/

Some of the pieces I create are made for a gallery and some for the street in which the placement is necessary to add to the thematic meaning of the piece. Making something that has its own natural lifespan is very interesting to me. Because the paintings are of people on the street I also put them on the street where they are exposed to that which can destroy them. I want the pieces to have hope, so I dont glue them to the wall I simply tape them so that the viewer can take them down and hopefully take them home. So when the pictures are left up and if no one takes them they will cease to exist. They will be destroyed and blown away in the wind or other forces that will rip them down and throw them away.  However, when people take home the pieces from the street. It is symbolic of how Christ has saved me. Without Him I would still be on the street. I would still be exposed to the wind, rain, and people that would tear me down. So, the meaning of the pieces on the street is not found in the pieces themselves. Rather, what the pieces are exposed to and see. What they experience and where they will end up, on the streets or in the hands of someone who has taken them home and put them up on there wall, as a prize and as a wanted piece of there home.

Leave a Reply

